Fan Speed Argon V2

Hello everyone, I’m an Electronic Engineer and I recently received an Argon Case V2 for my Raspberry Pi 4, which I use as my media server. I have an issue with the fan. It seems other users have the same problem: the speed control isn’t linear(Argon One v2 fan speed not working). The issue is caused by the 10uF capacitor connected in parallel with the fan. The minimal duty cycle is enough to charge the capacitor and supply current for the fan to run at maximum RPM. While the capacitor eliminates switching noise, it introduces a problem with speed control. I tried removing the capacitor, but the noise (and harmonics) became unbearable.

I would like to implement (or attempt to implement) a PID control for the fan of my Raspberry Pi, purely for educational purposes. For now, I have set up the logic to turn the fan on at 100% when the Raspberry Pi exceeds a temperature of 65 degrees Celsius and to turn it off when it drops below 50 degrees Celsius, similar to a Schmitt trigger mechanism. Most of the time, the fan doesn’t turn on, which is great as the temperature stays around 52 degrees Celsius. Does anyone have any suggestions for the problem? I thought about changing the PWM frequency to a value above 20kHz to remove the PWM frequency from the audible range. I haven’t yet tested with a 10nF or 100nF capacitor, but I believe it will attenuate but not completely solve the noise issue.

Moreover, I really like the quality of the case; I am very happy with it. Once I resolve the fan issue, it will be perfect. Does anyone know the microcontroller embedded in the fan’s PCB? I tried to find information online but was unsuccessful. Perhaps increasing the operating frequency combined with choosing a better capacitor might solve the problem, I’m not sure, I will need to analyze it further.

As mentioned in the linked thread, the microcontroller should be this: https://www.st.com/resource/en/datasheet/stm8s003f3.pdf