ARGON ONE M.2 Expansion Board issue

Hello! I’m a bit new to all of this, and I haven’t been able to find an answer while lurking, so I figured I’d post and see if someone could help me.

I recently purchased an Argon One M.2. to use a Rasperry Pi 4 to run a small Plex server. I have Rasbian running off a SD card, no issues with that. The problem is no matter what I do, I cannot anything to recognize the SSD I have connected (A 2 TB WD-Black SNN850X NVMe SSD). I’m looking to use the SSD just for storage, not for running the OS.

Things of note

• When I connect the board with the SSD to the raspberry pi with the included bridge, it does detect the expansion board, just not the SSD.

• When I use a USB 3.0 cable to connect the board with SSD to a PC or a Mac, the computers do not detect it. As a result, I cannot use the tool that was posted elsewhere to see if I need to update the board’s firmware

Hoping someone can point me in the right direction

Hi

I have the argon one m2, if you have the same version you may need to source an m2 Sata ssd (not nvme)

https://docs.rs-online.com/a63f/A700000007741972.pdf

Confusingly there is a nvme option:
https://thepihut.com/products/m-2-nvme-expansion-board-for-argon-one?variant=42169136873667&currency=GBP&utm_medium=product_sync&utm_source=google&utm_content=sag_organic&utm_campaign=sag_organic&gad_source=1&gclid=CjwKCAjw_e2wBhAEEiwAyFFFoyWhxo3CiHxu9lSvbKfh5asmBH-AChYQmaPlRTyHz7-U3d6X2IfqnhoCXeYQAvD_BwE

I went for a Kingston 256gb m2 sata ssd, it works well but the pi 4 gets confused booting from it when I have another usb hdd attached at boot, I’m running open media vault, I’m considering getting a better microsd and reinstalling omv on that and changing it back to boot from microsd.